Road Tax payment in Uttar Pradesh

Regional Transport Offices of any state are vested with the responsibility of the implementation of the Motor Vehicles Act and the performance of the various kinds of duties. These include ensuring the collection of the road taxes, making the registration of the new vehicles, inspecting the vehicles running on roads from time to time, issuing drivers’ licenses to the applicants, etc. Collection of the road tax is one of the vital roles played by the RTOs as only with their collection the State can facilitate its prospects of building roads and other infrastructural projects for its population. The payment of the road taxes is hence compulsory for every individual wishing to drive their vehicles on the road. The collection of the road taxes can be made in two ways. The first one involves the payment of the amount of the road tax in a lump sum in one go during the purchase of the new vehicle. The second method involves the payment of the road tax during the specified intervals of time for the categories of vehicles as specified by the Motor Vehicles Taxation Act of the concerning state. Road taxes are levied both by the Central as well as the State Government to build State and National Highways.

Uttar Pradesh is one of the largest states of the country comprising of the intensive vehicle population in the state. The road tax payment UP can be made in both the online as well as offline modes. The offline mode of payment of the road tax is made by the applicants physically visiting their nearest Uttar Pradesh RTO offices across the state to comply with formalities which begins with the filling of the form. The online payment of the road tax can be made with the help of visiting the official website of the Transport Department of Uttar Pradesh and completing the online formalities for the payment of road tax. The calculation of the road tax for the vehicle in Uttar Pradesh is calculated based on the type of vehicle owned by an individual. This also determines the nature of the road tax is levied on the vehicle owners, i.e. either the lump sum payment during the purchase of the vehicle or the timely payment of the road tax in the specified intervals of time.

Below given here is the list of the important Uttar Pradesh (UP) RTO Offices along with their code:

  1. Saharanpur – UP11
  2. Bulandshahar – UP13
  3. Muzaffarnagar – UP12
  4. Noida – UP16
  5. Greater Noida – UP18
  6. Ghaziabad – UP14
  7. Meerut – UP15
  8. Baghpat – UP17
  9. Shamli – UP19
  10. Moradabad – UP21
  11. Bijnor – UP20
  12. Rampur – UP22
  13. Bareilly – UP25
  14. Badaun – UP24
  15. Shahjahanpur – UP27
  16. Jyotiba Phule Nagar – UP23
  17. Ayodhya – UP28
  18. Kheri – UP31
  19. Pilibhit – UP26
  20. Raebareli – UP33
  21. Yusuf – UP29
  22. Hardoi – UP30
  23. Lucknow – UP32
  24. Unnao – UP35
  25. Hapur – UP37
  26. Sitapur – UP34
  27. Amethi District – UP36
  28. Sambhal – UP38
  29. Faizabad – UP42
  30. Bahraich – UP40
  31. Barabanki – UP41
  32. Ambedkar Nagar – UP45
  33. Gonda – UP43
  34. Balrampur – UP47
  35. Shrawasti – UP46
  36. Sultanpur – UP44
  37. Deoria – UP52
  38. Azamgarh – UP50

Basti – UP51

Alen Parker

Guest Blogger | SEO Outreach | SEO